Quiltyascharged's Blog

Yes. my guilty pleasure is quilting

Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild

Went to the second meeting of the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild last Thursday with my friend and fellow quilter Joan.  Actually our first stop was a new quilting store in Burnaby called The Needle & I Quilt Shop.

We got to meet Debbie Miller, the owner of the store, who is a very nice lady.  Actually that’s true of all quilters, right?

She has some lovely fabric and is getting more in weekly.What a cute little store.  She is also a Pfaff dealer and has a longarm quilting machine in her front window.  As I absolutely love my Pfaff machine I was thrilled to find that out.  I spent quite a bit of time drooling over the longarm.  Maybe one day…

Next we were off to the meeting.  It was great.  I am sorry that I don’t have any pictures for you, but there are great ones on the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild website. There were 47 people at the meeting and what a great group of people they were.  Holly Broadland started the guild and as I said it is just the 2nd meeting so was talking about what needed to be done to get the guild up and running.  She is so enthusiastic as are a lot of other people so I can definitely see this as a guild that I will be very happy that I have joined.  If you have had a chance to look at the quilts that were brought for “show and tell” ….aren’t they awesome.  I was sitting there saying to myself.  Oh I’d like to make that one and that one and that one.  Oh my….I have my next 20 years planned.

July 19, 2010 - Posted by | quilt store

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

